Godman - Stwalley House
626 Ferry St.
Lot :: 48' x 126' Unplatted
Key :: 156-06100-0580
This brick Italianate style house was built in 1875. In its renovated state, it resides on one of the most picturesque blocks in the city. It has a classification of "outstanding" in the Tip. Co. Interim Report on Historic Sites and Structures. The house was built by Richard Godman, and was owned by the Godman family until 1908. The property was owned by Edgar and Emma Taylor from 1908 to 1945. Apparently in the late 1940's, the house was converted into an apartment building. When Carol and Robert M. Stwalley III bought the property in 1990, they were told by long time renters that two of the apartments had been used by a church for a second hand store. The Stwalleys lived in one of the apartments from 1992 to 1996. They have completed upgrading the property, in particular, retaining the original interior woodwork and refinishing it.
The house was awarded a Wabash Valley Trust plaque in October 1998.
This property was aquired by Lafayette residents Julie Ginn and Hedi McCammon, in 2002.