This Queen Anne style cottage was built or moved to this site around 1907.
Originally this was the home of newspaper distributor James E. Hannegan and his wife Alice E. Hannegan.
The home was then owned by John Cummings and operated as a rental house.
After some years of disrepair and more than one spray paint application, the home was purchased by Elizabeth Mork and restored as her personal residence. The overly large, inappropriate front porch was removed (gravity was going to remove it eventually anyway) and replaced with a smaller porch that more closely matched the original porch size discovered by reviewing historic documents. A charming paint scheme, half round steel gutters, and a new roof utilizing high profile irregular shaped shingles completed the transformation from rental property to residence.
A new garage behind the home was constructed using real wood siding and materials in keeping
with the historic nature of the neighborhood.
Elizabeth Mork was presented a Pride of Centennial Award at the "Toast to Preservation" on May 2, 2004 for her work restoring this home.
|Legal Description of the Property|
|156-05400-0597||JACOB & HOOVER LOT 5||TR SONS OF ABRAHAM|